First Black Tie Dinner Stories

 

Tell us your “Story Untold” about your first “Black Tie Dinner” experience.

3 Responses to First Black Tie Dinner Stories

  1. emily says:

    While it took me some time, 25 years, to discover my true self, my partner says I came out blazing. And so when I discovered the Black Tie Dinner, I knew I had to go. Both of us being teachers, the $300 ticket price was a challenge. I also had to convince 8 of our friends to shell out too. I took on a second job, determined to save enough for the whole evening; from there, we formed our table of 10… made it through ticket sales day… and excitedly waited for October to approach.

    Sometimes words don’t seem adequate enough to describe what that evening was to me. Sharon Stone spoke to dignity and self-respect; it was a simple and direct and message – delivered, I felt, right to my heart. Lily Tomlin was fantastic! She entertained us, captivated us, educated us.

    But there I was, 28 and exhilarated to be in a room full of thousands of gays and lesbians – successful and amazing people, beautiful and generous. I was completely validated to be whoever I was. I have never felt so empowered. That night changed my life. It was the smallest price to pay… yes, the night is about the beneficiaries, but it was also about my life – what I had been waiting for – to live out loud, to not be ashamed, to be proud of being me: a lesbian, a teacher, an artist, a daughter, a friend, a lover… emily.

  2. Lisa says:

    WOW!!! I love your story. It was very much the same for me. Very empowering and validation that I was a whole person, valued, and just as special as any other individual in this world. Lisa

  3. Judy says:

    The first Dinner I attended was in 1990, but I remember it best among the many since attended. I can’t tell you who won any awards, who the speaker was, or much else, but I do remember the incredible sense of empowerment. Yes, “empowerment” is a word often associated with this event, but can never be overused. It’s this same empowerment I draw on still today. It energizes me to work on the BTD Board. More importantly it’s the same empowerment that enriches and allows me to enjoy life as a gay person with tremendous pride every day.
    Oh, yea, one other thing I do remember about that first Dinner — too much fun and dancing at the After Party! What a night!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

